Department of Political Science
Md Jamirul Islam
Semester -II
President of India
President
President of India

## Power of The President of India

President India is the head of state of the Republic of India. He/she is the nominal head of the executive as well as the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces. The office of president was created, when India became a republic on 26<sup>th</sup> January 1950 when constitution came into force. The president is indirectly elected by an electoral college comprising both houses of parliament of India and the legislative assemblies and territories, who themselves are directly elected. The Primary duty of president is to preserve, protect and defend the constitution and the laws of India. The president is bound by the constitution to act on the advice of the Prime Minister and cabinet as long as the advice does not violate the Constitution.

## Qualification:

- 1. A citizen of India.
- 2. He/she must be 35 years of age.
- 3. Qualified to become member of Lok Sabha.

## Power of The President

- Legislative power:- Legislative power is constitutionally vested to the parliament of India of which
  president is the head. President Summon, prorogues, address and dissolve the house. All bills
  passed by the parliament, can become laws only after receiving the assent of the President
- 2) Executive powers-As per article 53, the executive power of the country is vested in the president and is exercised by president either directly on through officer subordinate to him.
- 3) Judicial powers- The primary duty of the president is to preserve, protect and defend the law of India. The President appoints the chief Justice of India and other judges on the advice of the chief Justice.
- 4) Appointment powers- The president appoints a person as Prime minister who most likely to command the support of the majority in the Lok Sabha. President appoint 12 nominated members of the Rajya Sabha and 2 members Anglo Indian community at Lok Sabha. President also appoints Governor of States, comptroller and auditor General, Attorney General, chief election commissioner, Chairman of Upsc etc.
- 5) Financial power- A money bill can be introduced in the parliament only with the president's recommendation .
- 6 Diplomatic powers- All international treaties and agreements negotiated and concluded on the behalf of the president.

- 4) Pardoning power As Article 72 of the Indian Constitution, the president is empowered with the Powers to grant pardons.
- 8) Emergency powers president can declare three types of emergencies national, state and financial under Article 352, 356 and 360.